George Floyd

Comments

• When I was an EMT, we got a lot of calls from police who were dealing with whatever medical issues some suspect had.

Once you have a suspect in custody, if they report medical issues, it's your moral and legal obligation to deal with it.

I don't see malicious intent when I watch the infamous video. I see indifference.
  • edited May 31
    I buy the idea that he didn't set out to murder a man on camera.

I have some difficulty in sifting the indifference from the malice. The average PO is going to be of above average physical stature, range from a bit below to a bit above average intelligence, and is a bureaucrat with well honed abilities for a narrow range of scenarios, i.e. writing tickets and reports, attempting to assert control verbally, and applying force to gain compliance.

They are like public school teachers in that the better educated good ones make better money and work in better places, and the worse and more poorly trained ones end up in worse places and make less money, i.e. cash strapped cities with troubled populations. A teacher who fails in his duty to teach after 20 years of frustration and failure may not act out of malice, but he has to know that he inflicts a harm.

A city cop who write false tickets, lies about probable cause every time he takes the stand, makes sure you get to the station with some kind of injury and beats people he thinks need it may not be operating out of any kind of malice. He may be as tired of filth he swims in at work as people are of him and just does what he "needs to do" to get along.

He may be the biggest monkey in the monkey house and know that he needs to demonstrate his simian dominance by kneeling on someone where is has no benign explanation, or he'll lose the tire swing.