Workin Out

Is anyone here on a consistent exercise regime? If so, what are you doing and hows it working for you?

Comments

• I was, until we moved to CO.

3x per week, 30 minutes of weight training with a trainer. Pure strength training, mix of free weights, and machines.

I got really fucking strong and lost another 10#, getting back to 170#, which for 5'8" isn't bad.

I am about to re-engage with a trainer here, and continue something similar. I really enjoy the measurable results of strength training.
  • How much does that run you month?

I've never used a personal trainer before. I prefer to read up on stuff and then just go it on my own. I've really gotten into bodyweight training, as a matter of fact the only equipment I use is a TRX and a pull up bar.
  • My trainer was $30/half hour. So at 3 sessions per week, 4 weeks/mo, $360/mo on average.

Small price to pay for good health, IMO.
  • DAMN! That's cool if want to pay that but can I recommend some books to you?
  • Books don't motivate me like a trainer does.
  • I work out three or so times a week, run 4-5 miles one day, do a P90X knock-off video another day and then do a work-out yoga video.  If it's nice out I'll swim a couple of miles.  I'm too cheap for a trainer or a health club.  Some basic weights gets me 90% of what I need.  If I'm not travelling too much I can stay consistent and can keep to a weight that makes me happy.
  • Elliptical machine 1/2 hr three times a week.

I try to work in some strength training but have been failing of late.

Does lifting a glass count? 
  • I do a Jane Fonda workout once a week just before I get a touch up of my highlights.
  • I bet you look fabulous in leg warmers.
  • 2.FOH. said:

I bet you look fabulous in leg warmers.

I just wear the one.
  • zukiphile said:

I do a Jane Fonda workout once a week just before I get a touch up of my highlights.

Wait...
    What are you gettin' high-lit?
  • His ear hair, duh.
  • ZedZed
    edited January 2015